Possession of Marijuana charges can be downright scary to most people. You’re probably thinking that your life is over now that you racked up this possession charge and that it will haunt you for forever — but if handled properly, it will not. While these charges should be taken seriously, it is not the end of the world, especially if you have an attorney that can represent you on these charges.
There is good news: under North Carolina law, possession of marijuana under ½ oz is a Class 3 misdemeanor. This means that if you have five or more prior convictions, you could face a maximum time of 20 days in jail. However, probation or a fine is generally the outcome.
If this is your first time with a possession charge, then another outcome may be readily available for you. In North Carolina, this is called the 90-96 program. This program essentially places the first offender on a “temporary probation” period. During this 6 months to 1 year program, you cannot get any new charges, and you must either take substance abuse classes, do community service, or perhaps any combination of the above. The kicker is that once you have completed this program to satisfaction, the state will then DISMISS your charges.
With that in mind, it would be best if you hire an attorney to represent you in this matter to get you the best possible outcome. Contact Guirguis Law at (919) 917-5171 or at firstname.lastname@example.org for more information about how our experienced Durham and Raleigh criminal defense attorneys can assist you.